Viessmann Vitodens 100 Service Mode

Joined
15 Aug 2012
Messages
103
Reaction score
1
Location
Yorkshire
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

Can someone tell me if I need to get someone who knows viessmann boiler.

Boiler not firing, Engineer says the PCB not firing because of FF error. He got a replacement PCB, tried to fit it today.

Engineer says he can get into service mode, but not set the PCB to match the boiler model. It kept flashing at 1 and it needs to be 8. He kept turning the left dial saying the number should move.

Now he says the part is faulty and that it needs to be returned. I can't believe that a new part would be faulty. He's already changed something that looks like a spark plug, and I'm wondering if I'm being taken for a ride and he's just guessing what's wrong.
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
15 Nov 2005
Messages
77,074
Reaction score
4,780
Location
Crossgates, Europe
Country
Cook Islands
Viessmann keep a list of "approved installers" on their website, who I believe are offered periodic tea and biscuits and morale-boosting sessions.

I'm told that if you tell them the serial number, they look it up and know what engineering level it was, the specification, and therefore the correct part to send. I know they have a tech dept that should be familiar with any common fault.

I used to work in a very high-tech organisation that did much the same.

Is your mender an approved Viessmann installer?
 
Joined
8 Oct 2019
Messages
1,685
Reaction score
954
Location
Cornwall
Country
United Kingdom
Did he use the lead that connects to x21 on the pcb. All in the instructions with a new! Pcb. This is needed to set the perimeters to Match the pcb. That’s if it’s a new pcb:whistle:. If I remember if you have a 26kw combi then it will come set up for that boiler as standard anyway
 
Joined
15 Aug 2012
Messages
103
Reaction score
1
Location
Yorkshire
Country
United Kingdom
Did he use the lead that connects to x21 on the pcb. All in the instructions with a new! Pcb. This is needed to set the perimeters to Match the pcb. That’s if it’s a new pcb:whistle:. If I remember if you have a 26kw combi then it will come set up for that boiler as standard anyway

Yes he mentioned some sort of connection he had to make. What he was puzzled by was when it was flashing 1 on the display, he turned the left knob all the way right and said the numbers should go up but it stayed at 1.

How would I tell if he's fitting a used pcb? He said the part was about 300 quid.
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
15 Aug 2012
Messages
103
Reaction score
1
Location
Yorkshire
Country
United Kingdom
An update: he was trying to fit a second hand board (to save me money apparently. Funny how he said that as soon as I told him I'd rung Viessmann). Viessmann told me that the only way the value wouldn't change is if the board was from a factory supplied boiler.

Anyway, I'm now getting a Viesmann approved engineer in to supply and fit board.

Edit: for clarification mine is a system boiler, the PCB he had was configured for a Combi Boiler
 
Joined
8 Oct 2019
Messages
1,685
Reaction score
954
Location
Cornwall
Country
United Kingdom
System and combi will use the same board . The heat only is different as it has two thermistors. Need to sell my parts got loads for the wb1b including pcb , fans etc. Just ripped out a wb1c. Blocked to ****e from the rubber hoses as usual. Did a system check via a test. Ph and corrosion levels where spot on. Viessmann lost a lot of respect due to the rubber hose situation. If yours haven’t been changed then I would highly recommend. Personally for the cost of the pcb etc. Rip it out! I was a contractor for viessmann back in the days of the wb1b.
 
Joined
15 Aug 2012
Messages
103
Reaction score
1
Location
Yorkshire
Country
United Kingdom
System and combi will use the same board . The heat only is different as it has two thermistors. Need to sell my parts got loads for the wb1b including pcb , fans etc. Just ripped out a wb1c. Blocked to ****e from the rubber hoses as usual. Did a system check via a test. Ph and corrosion levels where spot on. Viessmann lost a lot of respect due to the rubber hose situation. If yours haven’t been changed then I would highly recommend. Personally for the cost of the pcb etc. Rip it out! I was a contractor for viessmann back in the days of the wb1b.

Rubber hose situation? What's that then? Does that affect my model which is the WB1C?
 
Joined
8 Oct 2019
Messages
1,685
Reaction score
954
Location
Cornwall
Country
United Kingdom
I don’t know what model you got but I’m guessing wb1b or wb1c. Both have rubber hoses that crud up causing hot water problems etc.. eventually. Trust me Iv changed loads.
 
Joined
15 Aug 2012
Messages
103
Reaction score
1
Location
Yorkshire
Country
United Kingdom
Just to fully close this thread with an update: went through the Viessman fixed price repair route. The cost was £312 and they did replace the PCB. Boiler is working fine now :)

He also confirmed that although the boards are used by both system and combi boilers, the boards are factory locked i.e. you can't change the configuration setting on them. The replacement boards (and more expensive ones) aren't factory locked.

The previous engineer only charged me for replacing the thing that looked like a spark plug.
 
Sponsored Links
Top