why is pump jammed?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Woke up this morning to no CH/HW and the display on my 20 yr old Potterton EP 2000 was blank.

So I checked the electrics - all fine.

Changed the main fuse to the pump / 3 way valve / control box and the display came back on.

Switched it to 24 to try and get a response from the system and there was a very brief pump noise - then just straining and silence.

Concluded the pump was jammed (checked by undoing the air bleed bit - I can spin the impellor a bit - then it gets jammed).

This is a new pump (couple of months).

Question is - how can I clear out the pump? I am not an expert (as you may be able to tell!). Do I have to take the whole thing out? If so, how do I isolate the water flow to stop my flat getting flooded as well as very cold..?

Thanks all

Sponsored Links
should be
p1809387_l.jpg
one of these either side of your pump. (it may have a "different tap" ) but you just turn them off

thanks breezer.

Ok - so I've isolated the water flow. Whats the best way of taking the pump apart? Should I use an alan key to remove the front motor section? (Sorry don't have a pic but assume they all look the same)..

Sponsored Links
Quite possibly - the plumber that fitted it did it for cash - its definately brand new but not sure where the docs are.

I don't think the pump has had a mechanical failure. I think theres crud due to my aging and failing system (low water content - Thorn Apollo which is also shutting off occassionally - probably for related reasons).

Just want to clear the crud out. Mind you - you are the xperts - not me.

i believe the 4 "screws" will remove the motor, giving yopu access to the impellar. question is how did XX get in there? unless your system really is falling apart

breezer. You are right. The system is falling apart.

I am falling apart with it..