1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Wireless control for Central heating system

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by TonyWarrington, 22 Jul 2007.

  1. TonyWarrington

    TonyWarrington

    Joined:
    22 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    616
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hello I am new to the forum - what a great place and a mine of information. I am hoping that someone may be able to make some suggestion relating to wireless CH control

    My daughters first house has had a combi boiler fitted approx 18 months ago. This is a Vokera Linea 28 (I think).

    The previous owners have not had a thermostatic control fitted (or even a timer) seems that they just switched the heating on as required. She would prefer to have a programmable system therefore looking at wireless systems.

    I was looking at the Towerstat T105 and would appreciate your views:

    1. The boiler is connected to the mains via a 13 amp plug (my electrician thought that this may not be allowed although the manual suggests otherwise!). Am I correct in thinking that the Towerstat is just a simple switching device and that the control unit only needs to be connected in line from the incoming mains with no connection to the boiler?

    2. Has anyone had any experience of this unit with a similar set up?

    3. Bearing in mind a limited budget any alternative units we should look at and if possible why?

    Cheers :D
    Tony
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. Biggles..

    Biggles..

    Joined:
    19 Feb 2006
    Messages:
    29,950
    Thanks Received:
    9,117
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Danfoss Rf sat or honeywell cmc67 (number's now changed i think)
     
  4. RF Lighting

    RF Lighting

    Joined:
    31 Mar 2006
    Messages:
    19,990
    Thanks Received:
    1,354
    Location:
    Leeds
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What make and model is the boiler?

    Most modern boilers will have two terminals inside them where the room stat (or wireless receiver) switch contacts connect to. You will probably find a wire link in them at the moment allowing the boiler to run constantly.


    I'm no boiler expert, but wiring the roomstat into the supply flex is not a good idea, as you would only be able to get hot water when the stat is calling for heat, and some boilers have a pump overrun timer, which runs after the CH is upto the desired temperature.
     
  5. Terrywookfit

    Terrywookfit

    Joined:
    19 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    5,740
    Thanks Received:
    1,086
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    As Rf says !
    You will need a permanant live to boiler
     
  6. gas4you

    gas4you

    Joined:
    23 Feb 2007
    Messages:
    21,178
    Thanks Received:
    1,912
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I always recommend and fi the Siemens REV23 RF. Excellent rf optomising room stat/programmer. Just leave your Linea programmer on constant and let this do all the work intelligently.

    I always take the perm live and neutral from the boiler permanent live and neutral terminals and the switched live out and back will be next to it, so it can all be done neatly with one multicore flex. Make sure it is heat resistant flex though (85C).

    Good price found HERE
     
  7. TonyWarrington

    TonyWarrington

    Joined:
    22 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    616
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for your comments. Seems like I was under the wrong impression.
    I was hoping to just add the unit in myself - however I now realise that it needs to be done professionally as the Kitchen if I understand correctly is designated a special area.

    RF Lighting. Make and model of boiler Vokera Linea 28

    Looking at the installation manual it says external controls can be wired from TA to TA. This is outside of my comfort and knowledge zone therefore I will definitely be hiring a pro.

    Can I take it that the Towerstat is not seen as particularly good? - shame looks like Dad will have to outlay more cash :).

    Will look at the alternatives quoted here.

    Thanks for your help

    Cheers :D
    Tony
     
  8. Paul Barker

    Paul Barker

    Joined:
    4 Aug 2005
    Messages:
    13,690
    Thanks Received:
    2,258
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The towerstat is fine and cheap, but can only be set to half hour bands. The preset programs aren't ever exactly what people want.

    I don't remember the connections on the linea it's a few years since I dealt with one. Not a bad boiler though.
     
  9. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
  10. Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page