1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Wireless router losing contact?

Discussion in 'Software' started by Agile, 20 Aug 2009.

  1. Agile

    Agile

    Joined:
    26 Jun 2004
    Messages:
    64,020
    Thanks Received:
    4,591
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    A friend has a laptop and shares a wireless router with someone else in the house.

    Very often the laptop loses its lock to its own router and locks onto a BT open hub which wants to charge a daily rate for connection!

    The own router is a strong signal but there are about 10 different routers being received in the house.

    Why should it keep losing contact and then logging on by itself to the BT openhub? Is the BT system predatory?

    Tony
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. timtheenchanter

    timtheenchanter

    Joined:
    4 Jan 2006
    Messages:
    952
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    Leeds
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    at the botton right, in the task bar, right click on the wireless icon and select view wireless networks, on the left of the box that pops up select cange the order of preffered networks.

    on the next bit delete the BT open hub from the list, windows should then only connect to your wireless, and only ask to connect to others when yours isnt there.
     
  4. Agile

    Agile

    Joined:
    26 Jun 2004
    Messages:
    64,020
    Thanks Received:
    4,591
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for that advice!

    Just done it and hopefully it will solve the problem!

    The owner's computer guy had been round a couple of times and apparently not realised that needed setting.

    He was perhaps distracted because the router has locked out a few times.

    I must assume that the correct router must be interrupting its output or perhaps movements in the house are causing the signal to be temporarily lost and the system was instead reverting to the BT open hub.

    There may also be another problem with the desktop though because for some reason it lost the password today.

    Your help is much appreciated.

    Tony
     
  5. sue62

    sue62

    Joined:
    22 Aug 2009
    Messages:
    87
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gwent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    also make sure you are wep protected if others are able to use your settings at worst you could be at risk of identity theft etc at the least someone else could be using your internet allowance and that could cause you problems
     
  6. djrock

    djrock

    Joined:
    24 Jul 2008
    Messages:
    251
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    WEP's been cracked it's WPA you want to be using.
     
  7. sue62

    sue62

    Joined:
    22 Aug 2009
    Messages:
    87
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gwent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thanks for that I've now changed my router :D
     
  8. djrock

    djrock

    Joined:
    24 Jul 2008
    Messages:
    251
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Also make sure you use a very long (say 30 characters or more) and random key because if you use a dictionary word you can do a brute force attack and get in.
     
  9. Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page