1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

WIRING A CONTACTOR

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by poolcool, 13 Aug 2006.

  1. poolcool

    poolcool

    Joined:
    13 Aug 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Plymouth
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    :rolleyes: i HAVE JUST INSTALLED A PUMP FOR MY SWIMMING POOL BUT CANNOT WORK OUT HOW TO WIRE IN THE CONTACTOR, ITS A CONTACTOR THAT LOOKS JUST LIKE AN mcb AND HAS TERMINALS ON TOP MARKED a1 r1 1 ON THE BOTTOM IT HAS TERMINALS MARKED a2 R2 2 CAN ANYONE PLEASE TELL ME HOW TO WIRE THIS IN PLEASE.
    ______________________________
    Lynda, moderator,
    please note forum rule 6
     
  2. fireman22

    fireman22

    Joined:
    18 Mar 2005
    Messages:
    796
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    what it the contactor controlling
     
  3. poolcool

    poolcool

    Joined:
    13 Aug 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Plymouth
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    IT I BELIEVE JUST LESSENS THE LOAD ON START UP OF THE PUMP THE PUMP IS MAX 1.9KW AND THE CONTACTOR CAN HANDLE UP TO 3.5KW DO YOU KNOW HOW TO WIRE THIS IN PLEASE.
    ______________________________
    Lynda, moderator,
    please note forum rule 6
     
  4. fireman22

    fireman22

    Joined:
    18 Mar 2005
    Messages:
    796
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    no the contactor coil just takes less current that your switching circuit can handle, with the contacts of the contactor rated higher for the higher load you may put on it. anyway how are you planning to switch on this pump? i am refering to how you are going to pull in the contactor
     
  5. poolcool

    poolcool

    Joined:
    13 Aug 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Plymouth
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    THE SUPPLY COMES FROM THE MCB 10A TYPE C ,TO A SWITCHED FUSED SPUR TO A MECHANICAL TIME CLOCK THROUGH THE CONTACTOR AND DOWN TO THE PUMP. BUT THE TERMINALS ON THE CONTACTOR CONFUSE ME AND IM NOT SURE HOW TO CONNECT THIS IN.
    ______________________________
    Lynda, moderator,
    please note forum rule 6
     
  6. fireman22

    fireman22

    Joined:
    18 Mar 2005
    Messages:
    796
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    right yes the terminals on the time clock are probably lower current rated than than the pump hence the contactor. well a1 and a2 are the coil of the contactor positive and negative. if you put 240 volts accross these terminals the contactor will pull in and the R1 and 1 terminals will then be connected to thr R2 2 terminals (double pole switch) just use the timer to power the coil then switch power to the pump through the R1 R2 1 2 terminals.

    i am assuming the coil is 240 volt ( stop typing in capitals someone will give you a row)
     
  7. poolcool

    poolcool

    Joined:
    13 Aug 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Plymouth
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for that it is greatly appreciated "just read the rule 6 and my appologise for what is considered shouting this was unintentional" Again thanks :D
    ____________________________
    lynda, moderator

    thanks
     
  8. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page