1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Wiring a photocell to a plug

Discussion in 'Electrics Outside of the UK' started by irishturf12, 13 Aug 2021.

  1. irishturf12

    irishturf12

    Joined:
    18 Dec 2008
    Messages:
    26
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi all I'm planning to put up a garden lamp with three light fixtures on it. The three bulbs are 9w led bulbs equivalent to 60w brightness. Is it possible to wire the cell to a three pin plug then into the lamp. If so what amp fuse do i need

    Thanks
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Sponsored Links
  3. winston1

    winston1

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    6,892
    Thanks Received:
    525
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The fuse needs to be of a size to protect the cable you are using.
     
  4. irishturf12

    irishturf12

    Joined:
    18 Dec 2008
    Messages:
    26
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  5. FrodoOne

    FrodoOne

    Joined:
    20 Feb 2017
    Messages:
    491
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Your point of mentioning the "cell" is quite significant in this discussion.

    The three 9 W LED bulbs together draw 27 W and their "equivalence" to an incandescent device is irrelevant.
    It may be that the current for them is provided at 230/240 V, but you have not specified this.
    If 230 V, the current is less than 0.5 A and is "TRIVIAL"

    However, your post raises several other questions.
    Firstly, you appear to be in the UK and yet you are posting on the "Electrics Outside The UK" site.
    Secondly, although you did not state it, the photos show a "meridian electronic photocell kit" which you may be intending to install. (This requires installation - not just a "plug-in" connection.)
    Thirdly, you intend to install a "Garden Lamp" and connect it (somehow) to a socket-outlet, which may or may-not be external to the premises concerned and suitably "weather protected". (If it is not external, how do you propose to transition the connecting "lead" to the lamp, in accordance with any regulations which may pertain.)

    My third comment is probably quite unnecessary, since the "meridian electronic photocell kit" would be interposed.

    It may be that you have problems of which you are not aware?
     
    Last edited: 15 Aug 2021
  6. winston1

    winston1

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    6,892
    Thanks Received:
    525
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I believe he is outside the UK in Ireland. Over there DIY electrics have much stricter rules than the UK.
     
  7. ericmark

    ericmark

    Joined:
    27 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    18,116
    Thanks Received:
    1,687
    Location:
    Llanfair Caereinion, Nr Welshpool
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I do see @winston1 point, although I was thinking UK and did not want Part P being quoted.

    However we are not the police so all we do is answer the questions. The first is if possible, and answer has to be yes, but second question as to fuse size one amp is large enough, but where would you put the fuse? UK we can fuse in the plug, although that is normally to protect the cable, but most countries don't have a fuse in the plug, and in the UK we tend to use 3 and 13 amp as preferred sizes.
     
  8. foxhole

    foxhole

    Joined:
    14 Mar 2006
    Messages:
    17,717
    Thanks Received:
    2,034
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  9. Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page