1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Wiring BDR91 to Hive Combi

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by will bob82, 27 Nov 2019.

  1. will bob82

    will bob82

    Joined:
    27 Nov 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Like many others before me, I would be very grateful for some advice as to how I should wire my new Hive to BDR91. Unfortunately the set up doesn’t quite seem the same as other posts before. I attach two photos showing my current set up, the grey wire is really confusing me. But so are the others!
    Should be very grateful for any assistance.
    thanks
    152D7A2B-266E-4C1C-A2AC-180F6C8F0539.jpeg A9B408FB-5ECC-473C-9CE5-741F3BAE3AA8.jpeg
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. CBW

    CBW

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2019
    Messages:
    8,934
    Thanks Received:
    2,384
    Location:
    North
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  4. will bob82

    will bob82

    Joined:
    27 Nov 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thank you that is very kind and really quick response.

    Just on the Hive L, I am running the Red(L) into the hive, and the grey out of the Hive L into the Common Hive? So two wires in Hive L?

    thanks

    w
     
  5. stem

    stem

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2005
    Messages:
    6,741
    Thanks Received:
    1,595
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes, that's the idea.

    Honeywell use small screw terminals, so they kindly provide you with two 'L' terminals in the BRD for that very purpose. The clamp type terminals of the Hive nicely except several wires so one terminal is OK, place one wire each side of the screw, and it will sit nicely.

    It will be 230V switching, as there is presently a link between 230V and the switching connection A.

    will bob82. This assumes you are planing to install the single channel version of the Hive, and that there aren't any other controls, ie a programmer or hot water cylinder associated with your system.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  6. Sponsored Links
  7. CBW

    CBW

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2019
    Messages:
    8,934
    Thanks Received:
    2,384
    Location:
    North
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Saw the link, just didn’t make the link in my brain for it being 230v :LOL::LOL:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. will bob82

    will bob82

    Joined:
    27 Nov 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi Stem,
    I have moved house and looking to put Hive into my new place and I was hoping for some advice on how to wire this again. I attach a picture of the current wiring arrnagement for my combi boiler. I think i can follow most of this... it appears they have put hot water into the perminant feed (presumably to by pass any controls on the boiler), what I am unsure about is where the wires from "1 and 2" in Nest go to the new Hive Controller.
    Thanks
    W
     

    Attached Files:

  9. will bob82

    will bob82

    Joined:
    27 Nov 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sorry, correction.... wires from "2 and 3" not "1 and 2"
     
  10. fezster

    fezster

    Joined:
    30 Jan 2013
    Messages:
    544
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Nest 2 = Common
    Nest 3 = Call for heat

    Assuming you have the Hive single channel receiver, they go into the following (in the same order):

    Hive 1 = Common
    Hive 3 = Heating on

    Note - as this may NOT be 230V switching, remove the link from your hive L to Common, if there is one.


    [​IMG]
     
  11. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page