1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Wiring for eBay room thermostat?

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by Ben B, 13 Dec 2013.

  1. Ben B

    Ben B

    Joined:
    16 Oct 2005
    Messages:
    52
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Suffolk
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I currently have an analogue room thermostat for my house. We've realised that the timer wheel on our heating system is broken (It turns through the hours, but never clicks the system on or off!) And I figured by far the cheaper option would be to fit a programmable room thermostat and leave the heating in the airing cupboard set to always on!
    My current thermostat is a Drayton, One of the technical support guys told me the that if I should fit a Drayton programmable thermostat I would only need to use the Live and Call wires ( I had a look behind the cover plate and I think It have Live, Neutral and Call, 3 wires)

    I've seen how cheap the ebay thermostats can be, and was a little confused by the wiring diagram, showing Live and Neutral, but then 2 terminals for load too, not just one for 'Call'>

    See here:http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/LCD-Digit...arden_Hearing_Cooling_Air&hash=item2ec93c215f

    How would I wire this with my current three wire setup!?!?!

    Thanks!
     
  2. Ben B

    Ben B

    Joined:
    16 Oct 2005
    Messages:
    52
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Suffolk
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hmmm... Looking more on the forum I've found someone trying to fit a similar (or same) model
    http://www.diynot.com/forums/electr...stat-to-digital-help-needed-on-wiring.374951/

    Originally someone said it was an underfloor heating thermostat, though apparent;y without the sensor fitted it should record room temperature.

    Can someone clarify the response - I'd use Live, then the L1 (Live load) for my call wire? Is that what was suggested?

    Thanks
     
  3. Sponsored Links
  4. swampy2

    swampy2

    Joined:
    26 Nov 2013
    Messages:
    139
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What is the make and model no. of old & new stats. Upload pic of existing stats connections.
     
  5. AndyPRK

    AndyPRK

    Joined:
    4 Jan 2009
    Messages:
    5,850
    Thanks Received:
    589
    Location:
    Herefordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If the new stat is battery powered you won't need the Neutral
     
  6. Sponsored Links
  7. Taylortwocities

    Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    20,379
    Thanks Received:
    2,105
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Look in the bloomin' WIKI

    It has lots of great advice, including how to sort this issue.
     
  8. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page