Worcester Bosch Danesmoor 18/25 fault

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
We have a Worcester Bosch Danesmoor 18/25 oil fired boiler. Suddenly this morning the lock out light lit. On reset the boiler ran for approximately 4 minutes (it runs the pump then ignites fine) then you could hear the change of sound as the flame went out and then a few seconds later the lock out light came back on.

We have plenty of oil, the filters have been checked and were clean as has the photocell. If you remove the front panel (as to access the reset button) you can see a red light flashing intermitently on the top of the control box.

The boiler is 2 years and 1 month old (2 year warranty - typical!!) was serviced last year and is due its next about now.

HELP PLEASE

Thanks
Kath

Sponsored Links
Faulty photocell (is it filmed over) or control box ?
I am not an expert on oil but have fitted a few over the years.

Photocell is clean but not sure if faulty. Guess it might be a control box which I guess is going to be rather costly.

Thanks

KathG

Turn off the electric to the boiler (so it wont fire)then remove the burner and blast tube,check the nozzel and ignition is clean.
Also with oil boilers you need to service and set the air and oil settings(dont try this unles you have the right tools)
Whats the oil tank like is that new? could there be water in the tank?
Has there been any signs of smoke from flue?

If the boilers due a service then thats all it may need

p.s. i can get control box's very cheap but it may not be that
sounds like feul or air to me

Sponsored Links
Oil tank and boiler all same age (just over 2 years ) as the house is new.
Haven't seen any signs of smoke. Nozzle I would think does need replacing as 1 year old now (replaced last service) but firing chamber was clean.

KathG