1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Working out the overload on this motor fan unit?

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by markymark2406, 23 Jul 2019.

  1. markymark2406

    markymark2406

    Joined:
    7 Mar 2007
    Messages:
    449
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just trying to work out the overload setting for this motor, I calculate by the information on the plate of the motor that it should be set to 0.53A is this correct.
    Just a confirmation ?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Sponsored Links
  3. conny

    conny

    Joined:
    30 Jun 2008
    Messages:
    14,132
    Thanks Received:
    801
    Location:
    Suffolk
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The full load current is 0.94A This is what the running current will be when the unit is under full load. If you set the trip to 0.53 you may have nuisance trips once the unit starts working. The FLC is the maximum safe working current that the unit is designed to run at when fully loaded so unless you know what load you will be running it under 0.53 is too low. Inrush currents above 0.94A will have no adverse effect on the windings and will drop once the unit is up to speed. Motor overloads should be no more than 115%-125% of the nameplate current rating. The clue is in the word 'overload'.
    Based on this I would suggest you set your trip to no more than 1.4A
     
  4. Echo the husky

    Echo the husky

    Joined:
    25 Mar 2011
    Messages:
    2,476
    Thanks Received:
    326
    Location:
    Devon
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You would also need to check with the overload manufacturers instructions, many new ones say set the overload to FLC vaule, many older ones say set it to FLC+10%
     
  5. AdrianUK

    AdrianUK

    Joined:
    22 Sep 2009
    Messages:
    615
    Thanks Received:
    91
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Why do you feel it should be 0.53A?

    Have you divided by root(3) thinking this somehow gets you the phase current?

    The FLC current quoted on the motor is the current in EACH phase, not some kind of total current.
     
  6. mikeyd

    mikeyd

    Joined:
    17 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    792
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Seriously? Not sure why it should have an overload but set it 1 (plus a tweak) Amps and move on.
     
  7. AdrianUK

    AdrianUK

    Joined:
    22 Sep 2009
    Messages:
    615
    Thanks Received:
    91
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    He can't! That O/L unit is 0.4 to 0.63A .... its the wrong one for that motor!
     
  8. Simon35

    Simon35

    Joined:
    27 Sep 2011
    Messages:
    555
    Thanks Received:
    62
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Set it to motor FLC, job done.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
  10. Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page