9651 - isolate zone to lengthen cable

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi - complete Newb hear.

Have a scantronic 9651 alarm. Have had a new floor put down in the entrance hallway (wood to replace carpets) but unfortunately forgot there was an alarm cable under the carpet going to the front door sensor.

I need to cut into the cable to lengthen it (the closest I've been able to find is 4 core phone cable) but don't want to drive the neighbours mad as I'm sure it will set the alarm off as a tamper. Can anyone advise me how to do this please, or is it an engineers job?

Much obliged.

Sponsored Links
Not a good idea to use phone cable, the cores are single stranded and break very easily. That's why alarm companies, these days, use stranded.

Years ago, alarms installed, mostly by the big nationals, used to be the single stranded stuff, an absolute pain in the a**, always breaking.

Try Screwfix, they sell alarm cable.

First things first - DON'T CUT THE WIRE! Depending on what it's going to, it may have a 12V supply and/or data in it and by cutting it, you could short something out and cause all manner of problems - a tamper would be the least of your worries!

If the cable is going to the keypad, it might be best to get the engineer. If it goes to the front door contact then it should be relatively straightforward to extend it. If possible, run your new cable from one end to the join (or better still, replace the whole cable). This will mean that you only have one joint. Joints are inherently unreliable, especially if placed under flooring. The best way to do it is to strip, twist and trim each individual conductor, solder the joint and insulate with heatshrink or tape.

Open the panel (beware of mains in the top left corner) and enter your code at the keypad to silence the tamper. Find the cable and disconnect it from the main board - you may want to put the battery on the top of the panel (without disconnecting it) to keep it out of the way.