Advice needed - what is it and how to fix?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
We have removed all the wallpaper in our new flat's living room. 2 walls are fine but underneath the others is this...

I used a steamer to remove the wallpaper from the walls, on the 2 walls it came off no problem but on the walls in the photos it was a struggle. Underneath there seems to be 2-3 layers of either a thick lining paper or plasterboard. I have no experience with materials or plastering so i would like to know what these materials are and how we can fix the wall so it can be painted.

I'll try and describe it...

The top layer is smooth but when moisture is applied it looks like a thick card type material. This only appears in some areas - in between these areas is a pink coloured smooth material (poss plasterboard?) Underneath this pink material is another brown coloured thick card type material and under that is grey plaster. What is this stuff?

Just to be clear the actual wallpaper and it's backing paper has been removed.

I tried using a steamer to remove these layers but it takes hours to scrape through and is damaging the plaster underneath.

Any ideas?

Sponsored Links
You've removed the wallpaper as you said, but i reckon you have gone into/damaged the plasterboard itself. The pink smooth stuff you mention will probably plaster/joint finish where the joints in the plasterboard were taped. The thing that made it difficult for the paper to be stripped off, is because whoever papered the walls years ago, never painted/ primed them first. Always better to do it that way.
So to sum up,, you've taken off the wallpaper, but in some areas, you've also gone into the actual fabric of the plasterboard. You will need to get the plasterboard repaired/skimmed, or if the damage is very severe, you will need to replace any area. Always be careful stripping paper with a steamer, especially on plasterboard.