Advice on paving that is too high

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello everyone.

I just had a patio installed. The pavers agrgued with me at the outset when I told them that it must be a minimum of 150mm below the DPC. They said 75mm was sufficient, but I insisted on 150mm. Eventually they conceded and went ahead with the work. However, I did not know that there are two DPC's in the house and the 150mm that they measured down from was from the higher DPC and I've just discovered that the patio is just about level with the lower DPC.

There is an ACO drain against the house at around the same level as the lower DPC. I have no idea what to do. Can anyone please advise me?

Thanks.

Sponsored Links
I'm no expert on this but I had a house where the one DPC was at ground level, no way to alter the ground level without runoff rainwater going towards the house.

I did a fix which I found in my DIY book that called for a pea gravel trench around the property. I believe that this is a standard method and you should be able to find out more online.

My belief is that if you have 2 DPC's you're more than OK, I do wonder why you have 2 and I guess others in the forum may be able to shed some light on this.

Perhaps a fix is not required in this instance.

Hope this helps.

Justin

Many thanks for your reply Justin. As far as I know, the lower DPC is to protect the wall and the higher one is to protect the floorboards. There's a 'floating floor' downstairs in the house.

Sponsored Links
Hi Woody. Please see attached.

You can just make out the thin line with appears to be the lower DPC, with the ACO type drain just below it.

I've attached another one so you can see the old air brick.

Thanks.

Attachments

• IMG_4947.JPG
    IMG_4947.JPG
    477.5 KB · Views: 436
  • IMG_4948.JPG
    IMG_4948.JPG
    471.9 KB · Views: 378
  • IMG_4951.JPG
    IMG_4951.JPG
    399.4 KB · Views: 418
  • IMG_4952.JPG
    IMG_4952.JPG
    230.7 KB · Views: 415
Last edited: