Are Victorian bricks worth salvaging?

cjb

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi there, first post!

We have a Victorian semi, we want to knock through the morning room & kitchen. We are looking to take out a chimney breast in total, from the ground floor, first floor & stack.

Is it worth trying to salvage some of the bricks? We want to try anyway to use some to block off a doorway... anyone know how to go about it? Is it worth the effort do you think?

Any advice gratefully received, I'm a complete novice!

Sponsored Links
If they're interior bricks, they'll probably be very poor quality. Also bear in mind that knocking a chimney down could devalue you house.

I'm all for diy and enthusiasm but as you say you are a novice, removing chimney breast and stack may affect stability of the house wall if not done correctly. It may be a good idea to discuss this with your building control office. As for salvaging bricks it should be easy to clean them up as they will be laid with lime mortar. I do agree with Tom about keeping the chimney though, and they can be a good way of providing ventilation.

Have to agree with the other posts. A lot of work, quite expensive, potentially dangerous and probably reducing the value of your property.

If, having established the structural implications you do procede, you use a Club hammer and bolster to remove the bricks, one by one, working from the top. Then use a decent brick scutch to clean up the bricks. Preferably a double ended one with removable bits so you can have a comb one end and a flat blade the other.