BUILDING OVER A GARAGE, A COUPLE OF QUICK QUESTIONS

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, we are thinking of building over our attached garage to add a 4th bedroom and ensuite. The garage is flush with the front of the house but set back a couple of metres at the rear, I would want to have the garage lengthened at the back to match the house to cary the roof line over. My house is a 15 year old timber frame built by Wimpey Homes.

A couple of questions first, would I be better of having the exstension over the garage done in timber frame or the conventional brick and block?

Also after I have measured the width of our garage how much should I take off for insulation/ cavity space to gauge how wide our bedroom above could be?.

Ps. I have been a heating engineer for about 10 years but have never worked on newbuild hence the questions.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Sponsored Links
Unless the existing garage walls and foundations are up to current cavity wall spec's then you are likely to have to consider the most sensible option.

There are several ways to achieve this but explanations are lengthy.

It makes sense to extend the back of the garage bringing it flush with the external wall. However, you are likely to have to set the front back say 500mm to conform to planning rules.

The external fabric will need to match existing so building the extension out of brick - cavity - block is probably going to be the best option.

Whether you can achieve what you want by leaving the existing garage in place or demolishing and starting from scratch can be determined by a competent designer and will rest largely on the make-up of the foundations etc.

Unless the existing garage walls and foundations are up to current cavity wall spec's then you are likely to have to consider the most sensible option.

There are several ways to achieve this but explanations are lengthy.