Building Regulation Plans and Architect

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi All,

I'm new to all this (both the forum and the scary work of DIY). So please bear with me and apologies for the lengthy post thats about to follow.

I'll give you a little background on our plans thus far...

So we are planning on having a single storey extension built to improve the layout/ size of out teeny tiny kitchen and bathroom. We have contacted the local planning dept who requested a 'sketch' of our proposed extension and have agreed in writing that it is within permissible development. (one tick in the box at least) we're talking 3m (in line with the existing width of the property) x 2.8m.

On discussing with Building Control and having a dig in the garden, we discovered that the sewer pipe runs 1.1 metres away in line with our property. So obviously we are required to submit building regulation plans as what we intend to do is within 3m of the sewer.

Really I'm looking for a little advice from all your wonderful experience, we have contacted Southern Water who verbally agreed that building over the sewer would not be a problem and this would be agreed fully when Building control have received our application and notify them??!

I have just had a look on their website and discovered this..
http://www.southernwater.co.uk/pdf/...uilders/sewer-connections/BuildOverNotes.pdf.

Stating that they are unlikely to approve building over the sewer if we can divert instead. Now am I being a complete plank and thinking this would be the case if perhaps the extension covered the sewer pipe right across our land.

What I'm hoping is that as there will be a meter or so to the right of our property still that a manhole could be moved to there to provide access? (Luckily we've never had any problems as there isnt even an existing manhole)