Buying advice - multitool, random orbital sander and router

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi there.

I have recently got into woodworking and could really do with the following tools to help with my current DIY projects:

* Multitool
* Random Orbital Sander
* Router

As an amateur, I do not need to buy anything absolutely top end but would like to avoid buying anything so cheap that it is a false economy.

Any advice on what models to buy would be much appreciated.

If it helps, I have a Makita cordless drill and driver set. However, I am not convinced that any of the abovementioned tools actually need to be cordless (unless anyone thinks otherwise).

Any pointers would be much appreciated.

Sponsored Links
What size of a budget do you have?
For each item.
Cordless multitool, corded router, corded ROS.

i replied on your UKworkshop forum post
i find the multi-tool very useful as cordless - just a retired DIYer
And probably the same for the sander

BUT just depends on if happy to plug into an extension lead

if you are already on the Makita battery platform , then maybe worth a look at that range

difficult to say , in my experience buying some of the cheaper triton/lidl power tools - most have failed in some way and returned
So i now tend to buy tools from Dewalt and on the battery platform and for garden Stihl , a bit overkill , but i only want to buy once and when i use want it to work ......

Thank you - apologies for the same post on two different sites.

Budgetwise - if I could spend around £250.00 in total, that would be great, though £300.00 would be OK.

I have had mixed results with Screwfix homebrand products - I bought a McAllister Tracksaw that has been absolutely fine but I have had an old jigsaw that failed (replaced with a Bosch) and also a garden shredder which is barely usable.

I agree that perhaps the multitool should be cordless if possible (though I take it that will whack the costs up a bit).

Sponsored Links