CAT underground cable/pipe locating devices

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,
Just wondering if anyone has tried using a CAT buried cable locator, I see you can rent them from most hire shops, bout 40 quid a day. I'm wanting to run a blue water pipe under a concrete slab and come up under my stairs to fit a stop tap, only thing is, there's a gas meter in there and I'm worried the steel gas pipe might get in my way or worse, I damage it. Digging out exploratory holes in the slab is a problem, its going to be rock hard and I'm told about 4 inch thick ( 1930's ).

Would one of these locators help me out ? obviously, I've never used one before.

Last edited:
Sponsored Links
The answer is yes this would definetly help you out.
thew kit you will hire should be a CAT and Genny, the genny you will comnnect to the pipe just below the gas meter and this will mean the CAT will get a posotive signal from the underground pipe. they are pretty simple to use and should have full instructions attached...it should only take 1/2 hour to survey once set up ...so a days hire will give you bags of time to read instructions/youtube etc...word of warning...mark clearly at the surface the findings of the survey and even sketch it out.....also still proceed with upmost care (HANDDIG) the lot, whilst the survey equipment is pretty accurate....always assume worst case when digging around live services...

Gas pipes run straight, and that incudes up the drive or path from the street.

Or they come in via the nearest outside wall.

A detector won't be much use other than the novelty.

Gas pipes run straight, and that incudes up the drive or path from the street.

Or they come in via the nearest outside wall.

A detector won't be much use other than the novelty.