Ceiling Joists and upstairs fishtank...

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi forum :)

I recently acquired a 500 liter fish tank (5ft x 2ft x 2ft) and the only room I can place it in is an upstairs bedroom....my question is, would the ceiling take the weight?

Im a complete noob when it comes to construction so I really dont know what details to write in here which would help you experts determine whether it is a safe idea, but basically our house is a detached one with 4 bedrooms, its quite a new house...ermm, the space that I had in mind for the tank is up against the wall in the second largest bedroom on a desk which my friend has added support to with some thick wooden poles.

Is this a disaster waiting to happen or are houses built to accommodate for these kind of weights, because when I think about it, I had a party last year an there were like 8 people in this room and thats gotta be some weight right there...please help ! :)

Thanks,

Emma.

Sponsored Links
heeellloo fr33atesickz ans welcome :D :D :D :D

in general the joists [rafters] above a ceiling in the attic are thinner as they are only desighned to hold a ceiling up so much more weight will cause it to sag

if you tank is against the wall you reduce the loading on the joists to a minimum

if you build your platform for the fish tank with sturdy diagonals going from the top front edge towards the point where the back meets the floor
just build it with legs at the front and back cross peices[rails] connecting all the legs about 6"inches above the floor [the diagonals can sit inside the oblong formed between the rail and top]
screw firmly to the wall in several places and 80% of the load will be held at the wall

Thanks Big-all.