Central heating works, no hot water.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
New post from complete amateur so please excuse any mistakes and the rambling post.

I have an old (~10 years) Glow Worm hideaway boiler, controlled by a Danfoss controller. There's a tank with ballcock in the loft (?header tank - told you I'm an amateur) and hot water cyclinder in the bathroom. Don't think there's any motorized valves.

A while ago my father in-law drained down the system to replace a radiator. When refilled/radiators and boiler pump bled the heating worked but hot water didn't. Boiler didn't fire but pump ran when controller switched to hot water only. Following day radiators weren't heating either. Central heating engineer came and replaced gas valve on boiler. Before he left I pointed out boiler still wasn't firing. He adjusted thermostat on boiler AND switched a couple of wires round on the Danfoss controller (an electrician had moved it for us a few weeks before the fault developing). I was a bit unclear as to which bit of what he'd done had fixed it but as everything was working fine didn't question him any further.

Yesterday, my father in-law replaced another radiator. Radiators and boiler pump bled. Again we have no hot water - water flows from the hot water tap, no problem but it's cold. Boiler fires/pump runs for the heating and the radiators heat up - turn the controller onto HW only and the boiler cuts out completely. Pipes around the cylinder are cold.

I'm reluctant to call in a professional again so soon, especially as I wonder if this may be something simple to fix. A similar post on here a couple of years ago suggested an airlock within the hot water cylinder loop - no details as to how to fix it.

I'd be grateful for any suggestions. Father in-law doesn't have any!

cheers,

Phil

Sponsored Links