connect fan with no earth to RCD

Stop right there me duck, I'm not on trail here,

Are you replying to mime comments ?

If so then I am not "putting you on trial". My concern is that you and I have a lot of knowledge that the average DIY person doesn't have.

We know that to reliably test for live the test instrument must be referenced to a known good earth or neutral other wise a false reading of zero volts can be read from a live wire. But that has to be spelt out in clear simple words that the least able DIY person can understand.

Sponsored Links
I was thinking to check the earth (in my lighting wire) with a multimeter.

Am I correct in thinking that if I remove the fuse in my RCD FSU and then using multimeter perform continuity test between live and earth wire I should hear a beep from multimeter?