DIY window fit.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello i'm new to the bored & am looking for advice.

Two years back i fitted some new sash widows in my flat..
I had a friend in a joinery make me up the frames & sashes & I seperatly bought the glass myself... I sourced the weights & done a very tidy job fitting the whole kaboddle.
The sashes were made so i could fit double glazed units.
I went for toughend 14mm (4-6-4) units that are argon filled..
i followed all the advice i could at the time.
I have now been told that i should have got the windows checked by a building regulations approval surveyor & that the windows must meet specific standards in order to meet the building regulations...

My question is.. where can i find out what the regulations are that i need to meet, in order that my windows comply with the building regulations & if they do not. What should i do in order to bring them to the standard required.?

I hope that makes sense..

Cheers Joe.nacho

Sponsored Links
Joe
All windows installed must be done by certified fitters Fensa registered.
Check their website for all the info.
I once had an friendly debate with my local bc when I installed one window in my extension and he asked to see the Fensa certtificate, I enquired if a fensa operative could hammer in frame fixers in a better fashion to which he replied I guess not and moved on to the next item.
Pete

Hey thanks fluffster...

I have been on the website & between there & the building regulation site i've been gathering info..

I seem to have caused myself alot of grief & problems to come, once i try to sell my flat..

I installed the frames perfectly, but the glass I fitted is 4-6-4 14mm toughend glass that obvioulsly does not comply with the building regulations.. No Argon gas... I contacted the glass supplier & they told me its a rating of about U+2.8 for those panes.