Downpipe drain

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, hopefully someone can advise me on where the water from my downpipe should go. I've been noticing a puddle forming around the base of the downpipe when it rains and it doesn't look like water is draining away properly.

I did a bit of digging today and found that there's a pipe in the ground (see pic) that seems to be in the right place to take the water away, only its completely blocked (I can feel solid matter blocking it). I poured a bit of water in there and it's not drained away at all.

I'm new to this but I assume that the pipe goes either to the storm drain, or to a hole in the garden somewhere?
Is it a simple matter of getting a drain unblocker out to clear the way?

Help much appreciated,
Jambo

p.s. This is the first house I've owned so bit of a newbie at all this.

Attachments

• IMAG0491.jpg
    IMAG0491.jpg
    309.7 KB · Views: 128
Sponsored Links
The million dollar question, Jambo......the pipe could go to a drain, soakaway or simply to a hole in the garden - who knows?
Best to get as much crap out as you can - a wet vac is handy here - and then consider power jetting, maybe with a pressure washer attachment?
John :)

Years ago, I was redoing the front garden fence and I came across a lot of broken/blocked salt glazed piping that lay exactly on the boundary line. As I proceeded with the fence, I ended up at my semi and a PVC rainwater pipe, which went into the salt glaze. Perhaps your rain water engineering is of the same calibre?
Frank

Sponsored Links
Prince of darkness, that's an excellent suggestion. The blocked pipe does indeed follow the line of a new-ish fence to within a foot.

Thanks for all the help by the way. I'll be trying to unblock it a bit more, before getting any professionals in.

Jambo