extending electric cable

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
going to lower ceiling on the staircase and extending the cable from the ceiling rose but the rose won't move ie stuck tight with paint what would your solution be ie join cabe to the existing cable or try to break off the rose and rewire new cable new cable lengh would be about a metre longi f i had to extend with a wago conection what one would you recomend
thanks all in advance

Sponsored Links
Personally I would change the ceiling rose, but I am an electrician, you could use a connector 1677271999983.png either two or three pin depending how many cores, but it depends on your skill.

Sponsored Links
With suspended ceilings it is common to use these 1677311099424.png so the ceiling panel can be unplugged and swapped without turning of the lights to the whole office. I see no real difference between fixed socket and a in-line socket, the only problem is lack of earth connection, and without seeing how the new light is to be used or fixed can't really comment on that.

Personally I would change the ceiling rose, but I am an electrician, you could use a connector View attachment 296667 either two or three pin depending how many cores, but it depends on your skill.
The danger with using one of these is putting the open pin end on the feed side. And they are not maintenance free so, technically, against the rules.

The danger with using one of these is putting the open pin end on the feed side.
You make a good point, as an electrician just never considered anyone could be that daft, some are better than others 1677313954446.pngthe cover on some locks the plug into the socket, and the plug has recessed pins anyway. But we have to expect some common sense to be used.