First post: door or door equivalent?

lwh

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all - I'm new to DIY so apologies if my questions sound silly!

We need to install a door which separates our kitchen from the staircase. It's standard height but slightly wider: 124cm(width) * 187cm(height).

I wonder where I could get such a door? We do need one which fits well and leaves very small (if any) gaps as it's the door to the kitchen.

I am also wondering if there is any door equivalent like air-tight curtain (is there such a thing)?

Any help would be kindly appreciated!

Wayne

Sponsored Links
That's not standard height for any doors. Its very wide for a single door too. Has this gotta be a fire door? Ought to be really as its protecting the upstairs means of escape. You can get door blanks that are flush (non panelled doors) that you can cut down to suit although I'm not sure you'll even get one of those that width. size.

Not sure what you mean regading an air tight curtain? You can get seals for the door if that's what you mean.

hi freddymercurystwin - many thanks for the reply.

i understand the fire door point but i am happy with any door that works! are you talking about french doors? would any carpenter make doors for me?

by "air-tight" curtain i mean i just need anything that could provide me a somewhat air-tight separation between the kitchen and staircase. for example, i could simply install a curtain on the door frame but there will be lots of gaps... do you have other suggestions?

You have several option you could fit a fixed side panel to reduce opening and fit standard door size or a hinged panel to reduce door width [door and half] which would allow greater access for wide furniture etc.Or you could fit a pair of equal size doors using just one for general access.

Sponsored Links
hi foxhole -
i don't want to reduce the width becuase that's the only way to the stairs and reducing the size of door would make it difficult to move stuff around.