Fluorescent lamp repair questions

• Thread starter Deleted member 18243
  • Start date
So, ignore my post re shorting out the capacitor. That only applies to series capacitors, not the PF one across the supply terminals!!.

I don't know how to check the choke.

Surely you know what a choke is? If not then maybe you shouldnt have your hands in there....

The choke is basically a coil of wire. It should have resistance, measure a known working choke and compare. They do go open circuit, sometimes.

Sponsored Links
Yes I am competent to do the work; I have 27 years’ wiring experience in electronics and control panel work. After being made redundant I now have a part time job as a handyman at some offices, whilst going to college (C&G 2330) to train to be an electrician.

In this job if a repair is beyond my competence I get the electrical contractors in – as I may do with this one. I would only change components in this fitting “like for like”, assuming I knew which item was faulty of course. I don’t want to create a hazard and I don’t want to waste money.

I will check continuity of all wiring and connectors etc, and I will measure the resistances of the chokes and compare them with a known good one. If all read OK I’ll have to admit defeat and get an electrical contractor to repair it or replace the whole fitting.

Yes I am competent to do the work; I have 27 years’ wiring experience in electronics and control panel work. After being made redundant I now have a part time job as a handyman at some offices, whilst going to college (C&G 2330) to train to be an electrician.
Not having a pop at you, it's just you don't appear to have sufficient knowledge of the types of system you are working on, i.e. fluorescent light fittings - how they are internally wired and how they work to be playing about with them in a place of work. There are areas which I am not very clued up on, if you asked me to carry out work in an explosive area I wouldn't have a clue.