garage wiring.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
hi there, i just completed an install in my garage and although not a fully qualled elec to uk regs i am a military electrician currently doing the conversion courses ! 2391 , 2382 etc..

just need to know if i have done the work correctly for my benifit and also for when i come round to getting it tested by a local electrician who is also signing some of my work of for my nvq3.. :) dont want to look stupid.!!!

SUPPLY FROM CU located in house RCD 32Amcb 4mm T&E (6metres)(this was already left from the house builder connected to a single socket. so i utilsed it and fitted the CU as described below)

to

63a CU located in garage with RCD protection, 32A and 6A mcb.

6A = 1 way lighting circuit (strip light on ceiling of garage.)(built with 1.5m single's enclosed in 20mm pvc conduit.)

32A= radial circuit with 3x 13a double sockets and 1x 13a fuse way for connection of a freezer with out sockets. (built with 2.5mm singles enclosed inside 20mm pvc conduit)

can any body think of any thing i may of done wrong or any alterations .

a ring circuit would not be benificial as it would be a waste of cable and un economical

Sponsored Links
-Is the RCD in the garage going to discriminate with the RCD at the house?
-What is the installation method for the 4mm² cable as it can only be protected by 32A when clipped direct?

-Is this a remote garage?
-Do you really want your freezer on an RCD?

the 4mm cable from what i found of it its routed from the consumer unit into the cavity between ceiling and upstars flooring, clipped to the flooring joists and through the cavity wall into the garage. (it was fitted by an electrician when the house was built as the garage(adjoining the house) used as a sales room as house was the show house)

sorry i misquoted the garage CU its not RCD. just 63a 32/6a

the 4mm cable is not installed in conduit at all.

Sponsored Links