Glowworm Ultimate - No Hot Water, now no heating

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have a glowworm ultimate 30ff, immersion tank upstairs, thermostat in hall, trv's upstairs,

Yesterday noticed no hot water, put tank on manual override, heated water.
Engineer came today.......got home to discover I now have no heating either, boiler firing but everything cold.......after a few phone calls I've been told its the air switch? I have limited knowledge but I thought if the air switch wasnt functioning the boiler would cut out.......it never has although it does make clonking sounds occasionally, a bit like water hammer.
I'm now sat here freezing without heat until monday.
btw should the gas safety check certificate also have been issued today if the system isnt working?

Sponsored Links
Too vague.

Boiler firing and cutting out?
Pump operating?

Dave

Yes boiler firing, click click click.......whoosh. Yes pump working have tried upping it to 3, back to 2 etc.

Is there any sort of thermostat in boiler that would cause water not to heat?

Yes boiler firing, click click click.......whoosh. Yes pump working have tried upping it to 3, back to 2 etc.

Is there any sort of thermostat in boiler that would cause water not to heat?

Your boiler appears to be problem free. Circulation could be a fault. Whilst your pump may be spinning, if the impellor has detached from the body, your pump is useless.

Boiler stat will allow boiler to overheat but not before all your rads are very VERY hot.

Dave

Sponsored Links
Cheers Dave, the water is circulating. I can hear a slight gurgle and tracked it (ears to cold radiators round the house lol)