Hand Cutting Plain tiles

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, not sure if this is the right place to start, but hey ho.

I`m a Roofer, been doing it for 10 years, very shortly i will be taking my EWPA nvq in tiling.

Now as part of the exam, i need to tile in a plain tile valley and hand cut it to rake.

In my time as a roofer i have only ever used a petrol saw to cut valleys /hips etc. The only time i have hand cut plain tiles is with a nibbler, tiling around a dorma window.

I have been looking on the internet for some ideas on what tool to use to scribe and cut plain tiles, but cant seem to find much. Only thing i can find is a tile cropper but at £70 , it seems a tad expensive for 1 job.

I could nibble the valley all the way up, but it seems a bit extreme.

Any Roofers have any help for me please?

Sponsored Links
...........cue the Hovis music........

'in 't' old days.......when i was a lad..... :LOL:

seriously, we used a brick hammer and a tile corner to cut tiles.

clamp a plain tile between your legs so that the tile corner is standing proud. this is used as a striking plate. clasp the tile to be cut in your left hand and place it over the tile corner that is clasped between your legs.

the tile to be cut should now be resting on the very corner tip of the tile between your legs. you can now start smartly tapping at the edge of the tile to be cut, striking only the very edge of the workpiece directly over the corner of the tile between your legs.

you keep working away at the tile, striking off bits of tile till you get to your mark line. you need to be very patient.

you can also split a tile, by holding it in both hands and tapping it smartly against the tile corner working it up and down the centre till it splits.

you can also save time cutting by using the brick hammers 'nose' end to peck off large sections of tile in one blow.

Look at this, the bottom two items. They are available from Roofing Merchants