Heating but no hot water

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi

I am in need of help!!
Our boiler is only about 5 years old but suddenly 6 months ago whenever we have the heating on, the bath water is cold. All is fine once the heating has been off for about an hour.

I have a Vaxi Combi Boiler.

We did have a plumber out for a leak dripping out of the boiler but apparently all it needed was a replacement rubber thing (sorry, i'm not very good at this!) & he said this was nothing to do with the hot water problem. I sent him packing as he said he's have to look at the whole boiler system and thought he was trying to rip me off so if anyone can help that would be fantastic???

Sponsored Links
Not being funny, but how do you expect him to trace the fault without looking at the entire system? - guess perhaps?
Why do you think he was trying to rip you off?

If I understand correctly, he found the fault, told you it was minor, and repaired it presumably for a reasonable sum.
He has proven to be able to solve the problem, AND to be honest.
So you sent him packing because.................

Not very clever

Hi

I sent him packing as i'm sure anyone would be suspicious of someone who said they were going to rip the whole boiler apart!!! Otherwise, i'd be getting a new one installed if that was the case so it isnt a case of " pay less, expect monkey's" as someone so nicely put it.

Also, if the problem had been with the leaking seal, which was reparied then i still wouldn't have the problem.

Thanks fella's for your comments but i didn't ask for critisim or verbal abuse, just someone who maybe knew what the problem was???

Sponsored Links
Guess the guy didnt expect you to through him out and accuse him of being a rip of merchant either.

con-artists, the lot of 'em.
and not only plumbers, garages as well.
brought my motor in the other day as it sometimes stalls, and they would not say anything without opening the bonnet.