Holes in tiles for radiator

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
In my kitchen I've got to lay floor tiles and a tile skirting where there's a radiator.

My question is... how can I cut a hole in a ceramic tile in order for the 15mm radiator send/recieve pipes to go through? With it being tile skirted and not traditional wood/mdf... it'll look bad if I channel out a hole notch wouldn't it?

Thanks

Sponsored Links
richard - haven't seen the two hammers method since i was a 15 year old apprentice tiler (long time ago) and it always amazed me watching it.

OP -richards advice does assume you have a disconnected heating pipe or are prepared to drain the system. many people do cut a small channel the same width of the pipe

As always guys, thanks for your kind help.

Yes the hammer trick looks brilliant doesn't it!!!

I think I'll go for the diamond drill bit as I can't see the hole saw on toolstation or screwfix for a reasonable price. Can you see one on there?

Can I ask what size hole you'd aim for when doing a 15mm radiator pipe? What would you use to fill in the gaps? Would it be a pipe shroud or will grout be better?

Yes the radiator is empty so I you can assume that I can take off the TRV and olive etc in order to drop the time into position.

Thanks for your help

Sponsored Links
I think I'll go for the diamond drill bit as I can't see the hole saw on toolstation or screwfix for a reasonable price. Can you see one on there?
Why does it have to come from Toolstation or Screwfix? What about this one; http://www.amazon.co.uk/Silverline-...ULE6/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1331915501&sr=8-3
May not be the best quality in the world but it should last long enough to drill a few holes in ceramic tiles.

Can I ask what size hole you'd aim for when doing a 15mm radiator pipe? What would you use to fill in the gaps? Would it be a pipe shroud or will grout be better?