How to fill small holes and paint over them

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Total noob here so excuse my ignorance. I searched through the forum but couldn't find many similar threads.

I've moved into a flat that has a lot of small holes left from removed picture hooks. Like so:

8586306955_95ed0b007d_z.jpg

I imagine this is a really basic DIY thing. I'd like to fill them and paint over so you can't tell they were ever there. Could someone point me to the right direction?

Thanks,
Smooth

Sponsored Links
First off if there is wall plugs still there then tap them in just below the surface then simply fill with poly filler let dry then sand flush with wall then repeat if necessary then thin down a bit of Matt emulsion to paint over any filler then you are ready to repaint your room.

First off if there is wall plugs still there then tap them in just below the surface then simply fill with poly filler let dry then sand flush with wall then repeat if necessary then thin down a bit of Matt emulsion to paint over any filler then you are ready to repaint your room.

Hm... ideally I would like to avoid repainting the whole room... is there a way I can paint just these spots and make them look like the rest of the wall?

You can tell I'm completely new to this :D

Unfortunately you really would struggle to match exactly the right colour, if your not ready to decorate just yet then fill as advised then live with it until ready to decorate, if the holes are just on one wall then you would get away with painting just that wall.

Sponsored Links
If it was me, I would use some Red Devil lightweight filler.

Make a blob of filler into a cone shape, insert into hole, then skim off with your filling knife or scraper. This should be enough, no sanding required. If there is still a bit to fill, repeat the process till it looks right.

When dry, if there is a slight bit of excess you can usually rub this away with your finger, or a fine sandpaper.