Installation of New Electric Shower-Certification

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi All

Need some quick advice about certification of new electric shower installation.

I rent out my old flat & rec :confused: ently had a PIR done when we had a change of tenants, we just decided to install a new electric shower & my plumber said he would be using an NICEIC electrician & would send me the pertinent certification along with his invoice.

I have been using the same plumber for 10 years & he has never let me down or done bad work-a good guy !.

He just finished the job & submitted the invoice but when I asked for the certification he said I didn,t need to worry, it was a seperate circuit with an isolater outside the bathroom door, therefore no certificate required.

Hopefully he is correct, BUT just wanted to check, I would hate to be outside the law, even if the job is totally fine.

Any advice/thoughts gratefully received, is it just a simple case that it costs money to write out a certificate.

Cheers :confused:

Sponsored Links
The new circuit should have been installed and tested to BS7671, and a certificate issued including the test results. Without this, how can anyone know that the circuit and shower is safe?

Installing a shower or anything else in a bathroom is notifiable work, so either a member of a competent persons scheme should have done it, or if not, building control should have been notified before the work started (This involves paying them a fee).
If not notified, someone has broken the law.

And in addition, if it has been correctly notified/self-certified,you should then get a building regs completion cert. from your local authority (who would also have had to inspect the work if this was done under a building notice rather than via a scheme)

If the circuit was already in place, and all he did was to change the shower then he's quite right - no certificate is needed, and it's not notifiable.

Sponsored Links