Is temporary nature (>28 days) a material consideration?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all, I'm a nearly planning professional (as in I studied planning for a masters some years back, but ended up getting a job in a related but different field).

The company I work for is putting on a Christmas event in Bournemouth's lower gardens. It's a light festival event and many of the elements are free to the public - these are mini lighting installations housed in 'pods' about the size of a beach hut. There are also paid for elements including an ice rink and santa's grotto. It's all designed to make Bournemouth town centre a nicer, more exciting place to visit at Christmas, and it was incredibly popular last year (its first year) and won several awards including Design Week's Best Exhibition Award.

As the event involves physical things which fall within the definition of development, and since they're in place for more than 28 days it requires planning permission. Bournemouth's lower gardens are also listed (and very beautiful).

Getting planning permission has been a challenge, and I'm simply wondering if there is any case law or regulations that state whether the temporary nature of a development (in this case an event), even where it is over 28 days, is a material consideration - or whether once it goes over 28 days it would need to pass exactly the same planning test as a completely permanent development.

It's more to satisfy my own curiosity that I'm asking, rather than professional advice - but I can't find anything which answers this question (or tells me if the question is at all relevant).

thanks in advance! And if you're anywhere near Bournemouth next Christmas, do come and see it- some of the pods will be amazing this year... (tried to add a couple of photos to the gallery section, not sure if they're going to show up)

Sponsored Links
It's all designed to make Bournemouth town centre a nicer, more exciting place to visit at Christmas,