its my first time go easy!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi Everyone,

Its my first time using the site. My question is has anyone had a Sun Tube fitted to their home? I have a really dark hall way which the lights are constantly on. Having just watched an old Grand Designs where they have fitted one of these systems they seem really good. I had a couple of questions.

1) Are they easy to fit?
2) Are the Sun Tubes bright enough in the winter months.
3) The prices seem to vary massively are the more expensive ones really worth the additional costs.
4) Flexible vs Fixed pipe is their a difference.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Sponsored Links
I've seen them used in an office - and they were more effective than I expected. In terms of how well they work in winter, it's much the same as having a window - when the sun goes to bed, so does your natural light input.

They also work the other way round. There's a new house just down the road with a couple of these, and you can tell when the inside room is lit by the dome light on the roof.

Yes they work quite well when done properly, but don't scrimp on cost as the more reflective ones will bounce light better.. also consider where the dome on the roof will be, if its on the northern side it may not get much light to bounce down..

As far as i know they are simpler to fit that roof lights as you don't normally need to trim rafters etc..

Sponsored Links
Hi Everyone,

Its my first time using the site. My question is has anyone had a Sun Tube fitted to their home? I have a really dark hall way which the lights are constantly on. Having just watched an old Grand Designs where they have fitted one of these systems they seem really good. I had a couple of questions.

1) Are they easy to fit?
2) Are the Sun Tubes bright enough in the winter months.
3) The prices seem to vary massively are the more expensive ones really worth the additional costs.
4) Flexible vs Fixed pipe is their a difference.