Joining wood

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Been thinking about sorting out my garage roof and merging two garages.
Trouble is I will end up with a 5.5m (long) x 6.6m (wide) structure so am thinking of doing a plain single lean (lean-to/shed type) roof.

I was thinking of using multiple 47x100mm lengths. They are 3.5m (in wickes). Obviously they would require joining to to one full span of 5.5m, and I think they will be strong enough (still in theory stage at the moment :LOL:) they will obviously sit sideways.

One way I can think of is too use two lengths that I was too join then cut another one to bolt in parallel to the middle and bolted/screwed in multiple places.
Ive also seen nail plates used but im not sure of their strength?

The roof would have to handle (bitumen) corrugated sheets which are lite, but would be desirable that I could crawl over it so be able to handle the weight of a person.

Im not experienced so would like to ask you guys rather than find out after doing!! :D

Cheers :)

Sponsored Links
Calculator is a bit too complex for me.

My catalogue here has the following sawn treated wood.

47 x 100

45s .. 70,95,120,145

There is a 47x150 in kiln dried.

Just has to cover the full 5.5m and I would probably have 500-600 insides.

Still how would I join them ?

6x2 if its an "A" frame roof or 8x2" if its a slopping roof

if you wish to go for the flat face on you will have to upsize to 2x8and 2x10 respectivley

get the timber in the lengths you need from your timber merchants

or overlap the timber by 800mm to 1m use timber dogs and 4 or 5 coach bolts

have re-thought my answer you loose about 60% off the strength when you lay flat so egnore my suggestion and employ a structural engineer as respectivly its probably 3x8 and 3x10 when flat

Sponsored Links
Similar to this - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NRnjDabKka4&feature=channel