Kitchen lighting conundrum

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello, I'm a newbie to this forum (my first DIY forum) but I've used other subject forums before so hopefully I won't annoy anyone with my first post...

I've had a good look through the Wiki and at other posts and can see lots of similar questions but I'm not able to apply the discussion to my problem so here goes.

We moved into a dilapidated 1930's semi 4 months ago and "everything" needs doing.

I gutted the kitchen and now have just a few bits of cosmetic work to do after a full refit.

Lighting; there is one double switch in the kitchen and two independently controlled ceiling lights.

Both kitchen lights were simple pendent lights. I am replacing them with IKEA three-bulb units (for information only of course as they simply have a live and neutral choc-block connection in them).

I have replace one as it had a "new" ceiling rose and I simply remove the short two-core cable that formed the pendant "drop" and replaced it with a longer piece that allowed me to fit the new light unit.

Then I moved to the other light and here I made my mistake. I removed the pendent cable without fully paying attention to where the red and black cables were connected.

Now I can set it up so that:
- The second light is on all the time but I can turn the first light on and off.
- The second light is off all the time but I can turn the first light on and off.
- My third attempt blew the fuse! So I took the pendant cable away!

I have looked at a number of written and pictorial guides.

But I can't make them "look" like my setup.

I have put three photographs into my album named Kitchen lighting. The first two pictures show the inside of the very old ceiling rose. The third picture shows the inside of the light switch.

So, starting with the switch it is very simple with two red/live cables and two black/neutral cables.

The ceiling rose has two pieces of twin & earth coming to it. It has three pairs of connections.