Lead sheathed cable

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have a situation that seems crazy to me. The electricity supplier wanted a meter change. That seemed simple but when the technician arrived to change the meter he refused to do the job because the board it is fixed too is loose. This was raised with the DNO Scottish Power Networks.

One of their guys came and said that the main fuses are wrong and the incoming cable needs rerouted. I have no experience of this sort of lead sheathed cable, it was probably installed in the 1930s when the place was built.

How hard is it to joint to this cable? I’m not going to try it myself but wonder if the DNO can do a joint under the floor. They are sending an excavation supervisor to look at the job next month but I’d like to have an idea of what is possible. It is a 3 phase supply, 2 phases supply the church and halls and the third supplies a caretaker’s flat on the first floor.
20240316_160523.jpg

Attachments

• 20240316_084345.jpg
    20240316_084345.jpg
    197.4 KB · Views: 38
Sponsored Links
They do joints under wooden floors on ancient old cable like that when moving meter locations etc.

Done well within a day, you will probably need your own electrcian on stand-by to connect the consumer's tails to a new isolator, assuming they provide one.

EDITED for detail.

Last edited:
Tha
They do joints under wooden floors on ancient old cable like that when moving meter locations etc.

Done well within a day, you will probably need your own electrcian on stand-by to connect the consumer unit tails to a new isolator, assuming they provide one.
Thanks, that is a great help as there is a length exposed under the floor.

Sponsored Links
(On an unrelated note, what bodger fitted that Schneider junction box and associated conduits?)