loft conversion help!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
i am looking at converting my loft as we have 4 children and really need the space. I just need some advise on the best way forward! i have worked out joist sizes etc. i am a very skilled builder but unfamiliar with best practice!
i have a load bearing wall running AT 90' to my chimney breast about 2/3 the way. the roof is comprised of 2 purlins 1/3 and 2/3 the way up with rafters measuring 75mm x 50mm.

I want to erect a a flat dormer on the rear of the property and a hip end dormer on the side of the house. Is there away to simply use timbers for this or is steel always the way forward. My new flor joists will reach the load bearing wall located 1/2 span of the house, with a doubling up around where i plan the new stairs. Any structural engineers etc that could give me some advise would be well appreciated....once i know the options i will engage S/E IF WE CAN AFFORD TO MAKE THIS PROJECT WORK. THANKS STEVE

Sponsored Links
With all your best intentions, none of your post makes any sense without a plan or section through the loft

Your new floor joist may sit on the wall at the centre, but what supports the other end of the joists? A beam normally, and what supports this - gables or hipped roof?

You may be able to use nothing, timber, flitch beams or box beams instead of steel, but it all depends

And with big flat dormers, than normally means a big fat ridge beam ... of steel

And where are the stairs going - and are you losing a bedroom to gain a bedroom in the loft?