*low voltage recessed lights*

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi All.

I am new to DIY - and looking to install some low voltage recessed lights in the ground floor lounge ceiling of our two storey cottage.

Any tips would be appreciated, including how to drill the holes in joists (x4) for the cabling without removing the plaster board ceiling, or opening the floor above...

Thanks for your time,

David.
:idea:

Sponsored Links
David...The holes need to go through the middle of the joist so without access, normally form above its not possible to drill them.

You can try running between the joist to a location where you can lift the floor above but this may make the cable runs longer.

There is a lot to consider.

How do you want them to be switched - with main light or separately?

Is the existing circuit in sound condition? Fully loaded? Earthed?

And are you sure the ceiling is plasterboard? The word 'cottage' suggests it is an older property and you might find thatthe ceilingis actually lath and plaster. Either way, your better off working from above (lifting the floorboards) because you have to get at the existing light circuit. You'd have to remove a significant amount of the ceiling to be able to get circuti and switch cables where you want them.

Thanks for the advice - looks like the floor above is the way to go.

There are three wall lights at the moment that are really ugly, so I was going to use a set of wires from each of the three wall lights (all switch on and off independently at wall switch near the door) to wire in each set of the recessed ceiling lights, and put them on dimmers.

To do this with low voltage lights, would I need three seperate transformers?

Thanks for you time!

Regards,
David.
:idea:

Sponsored Links
That poses more questions:

How many lights in each set?