Monobloc fitting help

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I've got a Madrid basin mixer bought cheap from B&Q to fit along with a new basin. I'm a total novice regards plumbing and could do with some advice. The main thing to know is what I need to connect the supplied copper pipes (as in pic below) to the hot and cold pipes. The supplied pipes are 10mm in diameter. Do I have to use these pipes or is it better to get some flexible pipes?

Apart from this is there anything else I should watch out for? The hot water is supplied by a tank in the loft so would I have any problems with water pressure?

As a novice please excuse any stupid questions/comments. Thanks. :LOL:

48_1.jpg

Sponsored Links
You can either get a compression reducer that is 10mm one end, 15mm the other, fit a 10mm reducing bush into a standard 15mm compression coupling or take the tap and tails along to a plumbers merchants and get a pair of flexi pipes that have the correct thread to fit the tap body at one end and a 15mm compression at the other.

As you have little experience I would go for the flexi option, then you dont have to worry about bending pipes etc.

Fit the tap and waste to the basin before fixing the basin to the wall, that way you can get at the nuts easily.

Without knowing the particular tap I cann't tell what pressure it requires.

Jason

Plus, you will almost certainly need a little box spanner to tighten the tap onto the basin, unless you are lucky enough to have one designed for a flat headed screwdriver.

Sponsored Links
I have the Madrid Bathroom & Cloakroom sets, with the same tap sets.

I used flexi tails for the monoblock as it was easier and more forgiving with measurements. They will work with low pressure systems and the tails usually have rubber "O" rings so no PTFE was required.