New window blinds

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello everyone. I'm a newbie on here and would really appreciate any advice. I'm told that I am about to start fitting blinds on some of our windows by SWMBO.
I first need to get a roller blind down. It is fitted into a window recess and hard against both sides. I've read that there could be a pin on the non operating end but it's so tight against the wall that I can't get at it (if it is there)
Reading about new blinds, I see that blinds to be fitted on the wall face are called "exact fit" . Surely the ones to be fitted into the window recess should be "exact fit" as they have to be the exact with and length??? (confused).
However.....it looks like I will be ordered to fit either roller blinds or wooden slat venetians. Two in the bathroom will be fitted onto tiles. Any special advice for drilling tiles?
Can roller blinds be fitted to roll off the back of the roller to get closer to the wall and close off more light? The current ones roll off the front and leave a 40-50mm gap all round between wall and blind? Any advice would be A Godsend.

Sponsored Links
I suggest you post a picture of the ends so someone can advise.
Most blinds do fall down the back close to the window but it may have been reversed to clear a window handle.
Lots of ways blinds fit in, some just push to one side others have clips or simply take out the screws if you can get access.

I am off to do my "Daaaad can you come and fix this" for my daughter this weekend so will not be back on till Monday, but I'm sure someone will see the pics and put you right. ;)

Managed to get the roller off. It loos like it was fitted the wrong way round.
The blind rolls off the front to avoid the handle as you say, but rather than re-sticking the blind to the roller, they have turned the whole thing end for end so that the lift up section for removing the roller is tight against the window frame. I took the screws out as suggested!.