Oil combi boiler

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello all,

I have a couple of questions, but before anyone says leave it to a professional, i am living in Estonia and here is not the same as England (they charge a fortune and install some strange looking cast iron Jäspi boiler and tank and boiler in one location inside the house). I am a fairly confident installer as long as i get everything straight.
Basically I am going to fit an oil boiler on a sealed system and since i have no water storage tank i understand a combi boiler is the best option (a system boiler cant be used on a central heating system without a water tank if i understand correctly?). I am looking at Trianco eurostar combi boiler (i will have it shipped to Eest since they have no such boilers here).

First point is that i only need it for central heating (maybe in future i will connect it to the supply water but its quite difficult to rearrange all the pipework for the moment because of where the boiler will be situated (away from my bathroom) and my priority is heat since i have hot water already - but can i do this? Ie cap the flow and return from the boiler for hot water and only have the heating flow and return connected?

Second; on the boiler schematic drawing it shows a top up bottle and bypass valve between flow and return. Do i really need a top up bottle if i install a filling loop? And is the bypass valve so necessary (I will have only 4 of 12 radiators with trvs/ 1 each room).

Thirdly, how do i calculate how much water will be in the system to see if i need an additional expansion tank (10l is supplied equating to 90litres). i have 12 radiators (3 are small) and maybe 50m piping. And then where exactly do i connect the extra expansion vessel if i need one, just next to the boiler on the flow pipe?

Hope you can help me out will all this, thanks.

Sponsored Links
Why not email Trianco technical and get an official reply!!