Old, Leaking TRV

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

I have a small radiator which is leaking slightly at the TRV. How easy are they to change myself ? The radiator itself has always seemed to have accumalated air in it (only one in the house that does) which may be associated with the deterioration of this valve (or maybe not, im no expert).

The valve itself seems to open and close OK as I can turn the radiator on and off with it, it just leaks.

Any advice that could be given would be greatly appreciated.

Sponsored Links
Very easy to change yourself, how much work involved will depend on if it is upstairs or down stairs rad and if the old valve tail comes out from the rad easily. You have not said what part is leaking?

You have to freeze, or drain, or bung the system air inlet points and hope the water doesn't fall out.

Where exactly is it leaking from.?

Sorry for the lack of info :)

It is an upstairs rad which is leaking from the TRV itself, or so it appears. When I turn TRV to open / close it, it leaks water from under the plastic cover (the bit you turn). Sorry if this is basic stuff hehe, hope you get the idea.

It is an old house (ex council house with back boiler in the living room). The CH system etc is all in need of updating / renewing but I just can not afford to get it done at the moment.

Sponsored Links
ChrisR said:
You have to freeze, or drain, or bung the system air inlet points and hope the water doesn't fall out.

As Chris says above, cheapest way is to bung air inlet points, of if you're not comfortable with this drain down upstairs rads.

gas4you said:
ChrisR said:

As Chris says above, cheapest way is to bung air inlet points, of if you're not comfortable with this drain down upstairs rads.

To be honest, ill have a go at most things :D

How do i find the air inlet points though ?

gas4you said:
Open vent on the f&e tank in loft ;)

:D of course hehe. I know where that is, the tank at least :)