Placing attic flooring on top of insulation

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I am a complete novice when it comes to this type of DIY. So please be patient with me.

Following all the latest news on energy efficiency and saving money i decided to insulate my attic space. Its not a huge attic and is unsuitable for using as another room but until now its been used for storage.

All the new insulation has now been fitted but now it comes above the top of my joists. I have been told if a wish to put flooring back down then i have to make my joists higher to allow space to circulate between the insulation and the underside of the flooring.

How high will my new joists have to be and how much of a gap is needed between the top of the insulation and the underside of the new floor?

How do i fit new joists?

Do i have to leave some of the attic space free from flooring for condensation?

I hope someone can help me as i have had to keep all my attic junk in my spare room for about 2 months now and its starting to drive my crazy.

Thanks

K

Sponsored Links
typically you can lay 4"x2" (100mm x 50mm) timbers on top of the existing timbers, but at right angles to them as cross-battens, and secure with screws. This will spread your weight while you are clambering about, though it does not make the roof stronger overall, it is more rigid, especially if you use Ply flooring and screw it down (rather than soft, weak chipboard). It enables you to add about 100mm more insulation. Or you can place rigid foam insulation boards on top of the timbers, and floorboards on top of that.

If you want to add real strength you have to run full-length joists so they are supported on the walls of the house. this is not necessary for light storage, though you have to do it if you are making a habitable room or a loft conversion.