Rendering Raised Flower Beds

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,
I'm hoping you guys can help me with some advice on products to use and where to start.

I've built a raised flower bed out of 7.3N Concrete Blocks in my garden, and I'm now at the stage where I want to render it. I'm a total beginner with all this stuff and learning as I go. I'm sure you will advise me to get somebody professional in to do the job, but I'm looking to keep costs down.

I'm just looking at some advice on where to go next. From what i've read, I believe I need to apply Bitumen inside the flower beds to protect the outside render?

The pictures below are 1) My original plan (the middle part will be a water feature) and 2) Where I'm at now (the built wall)

Any help you can provide will be greatly appreciated!

back-new-jpg.38734

img_8706-jpg.38735

Last edited:
Sponsored Links
well done, that will do the job fine.

fix some level stop beading as a bottom stop line.
wash down all your exposed blockwork with two coats of SBR - one to dry the next to go tacky.
then render with a sand and cement mix 3:1 or 4:1

you could simply apply a waterproofing SBR inside the beds as well as outside but only if it wont contaminate your soil?
any render in your beds will eventually blow off but you might get a few years out of it.

any render in your beds will eventually blow off but you might get a few years out of it.

Yep, the issue with these is they look great when you first do it, but we don’t live in the Med.
I did one about 8 years ago, render is sound, but it’s the paint that ends up looking a bit cr@p after a while

well done, that will do the job fine.

fix some level stop beading as a bottom stop line.
wash down all your exposed blockwork with two coats of SBR - one to dry the next to go tacky.
then render with a sand and cement mix 3:1 or 4:1

you could simply apply a waterproofing SBR inside the beds as well as outside but only if it wont contaminate your soil?