Replacing sinvic tlx with eph cp4 room stat

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi I'm looking at replacing my sunvic tlx room stat with a eph cp4 thermostat the sunvic is wired like the pic posted from what I've read the live and neutral go to the L & N terminals and the switched live yellow wire goes to terminal 3 on the eph can anyone confirm this or have any input im very new to wiring

Attachments

• Screenshot_20231002_204808_Chrome.jpg
    Screenshot_20231002_204808_Chrome.jpg
    247.6 KB · Views: 49
Last edited:
Sponsored Links
The original meter will work with or without the neutral, so it will need testing to see if there is a neutral present. But the main thing is what boiler and what configuration. the eph cp4 thermostat is designed to run as master slave and it works the motorised valves independent to the boiler, the latter is connected using OpenTherm.

So the whole way they work is different. You may be able to use it without OpenTherm but they are about the only thermostat system designed to work with an OpenTherm boiler and zone valves, most are designed to use TRV's as zone valves.

Very clever system, but not really a straight swap for the sunvic tlx.

Yes, but if your Sunvic is mains switching (likely) then you’ll need a link to common (2) at the eph.

Sponsored Links
I have looked at the instructions for the CP4 and it shows the general diagram 1696312835261.png and the wiring diagram 1696312935785.png and the main point is the temperature sensing part is wireless connected to the units, and the units have connections for the motorised valves and independent connections for the OpenTherm to the boiler. So they are not direct replacements for a unit which combines all in one unit and does not require batteries or mains to power it.