RSJ Installation

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi Guys,
Seeking advice on a major RSJ installation on a house conversion.
A kitchen/diner conversion has resulted in a major supporting wall being removed and replaced by a RSJ. The pics show the RSJ is bolted either end to 2 vertical beams. The full weight of the RSJ and upper floor of the house is therefore held by just 12 x M16 bolts. I would have thought the RSJ would sit on top of the vertical beams, thus taking the weight, rather than just the bolts.
The structural engineer has reassured the house owner that it is standard practice and the calculations suggest the bolts are adequate.
I'm not a structural engineer by any means, but I have significant mechano construction experience ;);)and being of a nervous disposition I worry that the house is only being held up by 12 bolts.
I've already suggested that the house owner should invite his local council building inspector to view the installation.
Comments/advice would be welcome.
Cheers 20180324_100352.jpg 20180324_100516.jpg 20180324_100600.jpg 20180324_100615.jpg

Last edited:
Sponsored Links
It's not necessarily wrong, but that connection with the vertical stantion narrower than the beam is bad design.

Is it in accordance with the engineers design detail?

A grade 8.8 M16 bolt will take a shear force of around 58 kN; there will be a slight reduction of this figure due to some tension in the top rows of bolts but nothing significant and 6 bolts each end will be fine.

Have to disagree with Woody slightly on the connection detail; I suspect that the beam has to be the width it is due to the tendency of narrower beams to buckle, while the SE has specced a (narrower) 152 column section to reduce costs and/or take up less space.

Don't waste your breath asking the local building inspector for his opinion - the justification will (or should be) in the figures.