Should I buy a new pump?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have two Grundfos UPS 15 -60 pumps on my central heating system. A heating engineer has recommended I remove 1 as my system is "overpumped" and also suggests that I replace the remaining pumps as it's of uncertain age.

My system is overflowing into the header tank therefore the water is being oxygenated. The engineer feels this would have corroded the propellers.

I'm new to the house but the pumps doen't look that old - are these reliable long term or am I storing up an issue for later?

Thanks.

Sponsored Links
I have two Grundfos UPS 15 -60 pumps on my central heating system.
Do you have a hot water cylinder?

If so, is one pump in the radiator circuit and the other in the cylinder circuit?

A heating engineer has recommended I remove 1 as my system is "overpumped" and also suggests that I replace the remaining pumps as it's of uncertain age.
Grundfos pumps are very reliable and don't usually need to be replaced until they have broken down.

My system is overflowing into the header tank therefore the water is being oxygenated. The engineer feels this would have corroded the propellers.
If the impellers had corroded, the pumps would not pump so well, so there would be less chance of pumping over. In any case the impeller is made of a composite material, not metal, so corrosion is very unlikely due to oxygenation; although sludge could cause problems.

Is the pumping over a new problem? If so, have you made any recent changes to the system?

If not a new problem, how long has it been going on?

Do all the radiators heat up properly?

Are any radiators hot at the top and cold at the bottom?

thanks for the response.

Is the pumping over a new problem? If so, have you made any recent changes to the system?
I've only lived in the house a short while so I'm not sure. No changes have been made to the system

If not a new problem, how long has it been going on?