Socket failure??

The the two leafs in the electroscope both acquire the same potential from an extremely small current.

Electrons are very anti-social and do all they can to get away from any other electrons, this results in the electrons on the leafs forcing the two leafs apart.

( I think that is how the school physics master explained the matter ).

The way it was explained to me, was opposites poles attract, as in male and females (conventionally). Likes push apart.

Sponsored Links
I am told you used one of these Clare ELCB tester3.jpg to test them. When I started as an electrician I did not see any, not a clue why, but think the water main to most homes resulted in a rather good earth? It was only when we went to plastic water mains, and relied on the earth rod, that the ELCB-v came in, first time I found one was around 1989 at a caravan site used for workers building Sizewell 'B', think the site left over from building 'A' station, and my fitting of earth wires rendered the units inoperative, and they were all changed to RCCB's as then called, was ELCB-c and became the RCD.

It was the problem with stay earths which resulted in the ELCB-v being phased out, I was told they were banned, but not sure on that.

Sorry I mentioned the ELCB-v now, @zaarin_2003 must be totally confused. @davidarthor146 post has resulted in the thread running off on a tangent.

I remember it was also Sizewell when I first came across the heavy use of RCD's, many values from 1 amp to 30 mA, with delays which should have ensured correct one tripped, but the problem was switches tend to only switch the line, and neutral was left connected, so finding earth to neutral faults was hard.

At last today with the RCBO at least the fault is on one circuit only, but seems we have lost @zaarin_2003 he has never got back, any surprise with a thread like this?